With the support of:

Sergey Kovalevsky

Sergey Kovalevsky

1960, Krasnoyarsk

«We kept on thinking about the format of the ‘open-type’ museum ... In a few months we got in touch with Siberian museums, and in December 1995 the first Krasnoyarsk Museum Biennale was held, which became a communication forum not only for the museum professionals, but for the artists as well ... In 1998, in Strasbourg, our work has been internationally recognized within the framework of the “Best European Museum of the Year” competition. We became the first (and still the only) Russian museum awarded The Council of Europe Museum Prize» (Sergei Kovalevsky)

«The museum is turned inside out: the plaster heads, that were standing on pedestals during the times of the Lenin museum, now turned away into a narrow corridor (this is the way Sergey Kovalevsky, the curator of the biennale, unites the museum into a single myth) ... The biennale also turns inside out, but does not give answers – probably the commonality of this process, floundering in the same remnant is the very contiguity: charged by the common time and space, we are looking into the future » (Aroundart)

«The Krasnoyarsk Museum Biennale is very special, it is a unique art project, aimed at understanding the space of Siberia, a kind of measuring instrument for studying this vast, terrific, deserted territory. The concept of the “distance” is not that easy to interpret in other languages, but for a Russian person it means a lot, and modern art helps to translate the distance into the language of sensations» (Time Out)

 

The art director of the Krasnoyarsk Museum Center "Square of Peace", permanent curator of the Krasnoyarsk Museum Biennale, art historian, architect, designer, screenwriter, curator.

Sergey Kovalevsky develops programs and projects aimed at expanding the sphere of influence of the Krasnoyarsk Museum Biennale, promotes contemporary art and creates a stable interest in art space of a wide audience.

He has been working at the Krasnoyarsk Museum Center since 1997. During this time he became the curator and the designer of more than 40 exposition projects, as a designer Kovalevsky has developed more than 20 museum projects and expositions on the venues of Siberia and Moscow. He published more than 50 articles on contemporary art and museology, has more than 30 publications in Russian and international press about the author’s (или имеется в виду copyright?)creative practice. Under his guidance, the Krasnoyarsk Museum Biennale has become one of the most significant cultural events of the region in the field of contemporary art, the geography of the participating countries of the project is constantly expanding: currently it includes Russia, Kazakhstan, Germany, the Netherlands, Poland and the USA. Sergey Kovalevsky also develops concepts for museums as an architect, designer and screenwriter.

In 2007 he received a special prize “For the Social Measurement of Contemporary Art” at the All-Russian International Competition “Innovation”, and the VII Krasnoyarsk Biennale itself "Drawing (The scheme) of Siberia" was nominated for “The Best Regional Project”. In 2010, Kovalevsky was awarded the INNOVATION Prize, the All-Russian Competition in Contemporary Visual Art,  in the nomination “The Best Regional Project” as the curator of the VIII Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum “Distance” in 2009.

Selected projects:

1995 — “The Past and the Future in the Museum”, I Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

1997 — “The open museum: Urbi et orbi” II Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

1999 — “Museums of the world — on the square of the world” III Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

2001 — “The art of memory” IV Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

2003 — “The Fiction of history” V Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

2005 — “Moving of values: the value of moving” VI Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

2007 — “The scheme of Siberia” VII Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

2009 — “The distance” VIII Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

2011 — “In the depth” IX Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

2013 — “Love of space” X Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

2015 — “The Practice of contiguity” XI Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum. Curator.

Awards and titles:

In 2007 Kovalevsky was a special prize for the socially significant phenomenon in contemporary art of the All-Russian International Competition “Innovation”,

The VIII Krasnoyarsk Biennale of Art Museum “Distance”, the project of the Krasnoyarsk Museum Center, received an award for “The Best Regional Project” at the All-Russian International Competition “Innovation”.

Education and professional activities:

Graduated from the School of Engineering and Construction of the Siberian Federal University, “Architecture” faculty in 1982.

The Krasnoyarsk Museum Complex. Art-director since 1997.

Head of the innovation seminars in the museum exposition in the countries of Central Asia (Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan), 2007-2011.

Member of an expert council of the All-Russian International Competition “Innovation” in contemporary art, 2011-2013.

Member of the Expert Council of the Russian investment art rating 49ART.

При поддержке:

Сергей Ковалевский

Сергей Ковалевский

1960, Красноярск

«Мы продолжали думать над форматом музея открытого типа… За считанные месяцы мы установили контакты с сибирскими музеями, и в декабре 1995 года состоялась первая Красноярская музейная биеннале, ставшая форумом общения не только для специалистов музейного дела, но и для художников… В 1998 году в Страсбурге наша работа получила международное признание в рамках конкурса «Лучший европейский музей года». Мы стали первым (и до сих пор единственным) российским музеем, удостоенным Музейного приза Совета Европы» (Сергей Ковалевский)

«Музей вывернут наизнанку: гипсовые головы, в бытность музея Ленина парадно стоящие на постаментах, оказываются отвернутыми в узкий коридор (куратор биеннале Сергей Ковалевский так соединяет музей в единый миф)… Биеннале выворачивает, но не дает ответов – возможно, именно общность этого выворачивания, барахтанье в одинаковом остатке и есть то самое соприкасание: заряженные общим временем и пространством – мы – смотрим в будущее» (Aroundart)

«Красноярская музейная биеннале особенная, это уникальный арт-проект, нацеленный на осмысление пространства Сибири, своеобразный измерительный прибор для изучения этой бескрайней, огромной, пустынной территории. Понятие «даль» непросто передать на других языках, но для русского человека оно значит очень много, и современное искусство помогает перевести расстояние на язык ощущений» (Time Out)

 

Арт-директор Красноярского музейного центра «Площадь мира», бессменный куратор Красноярской музейной биеннале, искусствовед, архитектор, дизайнер, сценарист, куратор.

 

Сергей Ковалевский разрабатывает программы и проекты, направленные на расширение сферы влияния Красноярской музейной биеннале, занимается продвижением современного искусства и формированием устойчивого интереса широкой аудитории к арт-пространству.

Работает в Красноярском музейном центре с 1997 года. За это время стал куратором и дизайнером более 40 экспозиционных проектов, разработал более 20 музейных проектов и экспозиций на площадках Сибири и Москвы в качестве художника-проектировщика. Опубликовал более 50 статей по вопросам современного искусства и музеологии, имеет более 30 публикаций в центральной и зарубежной прессе об авторской творческой практике. Под его руководством Красноярская музейная биеннале стала одним из самых значимых культурных событий региона в области современного искусства, география стран-участниц проекта постоянно расширяется: на сегодняшний день это Россия, Казахстан, Германия, Нидерланды, Польша, США. Сергей Ковалевский также занимается разработкой концепций для музеев как архитектор, дизайнер и сценарист.

В 2007 году получил специальный приз «За социальное измерение современного искусства» на Всероссийском международном конкурсе «Инновация», а сама VII Красноярская биеннале «Чертёж Сибири» была номинирована как лучший региональный проект. В 2010 году Ковалевскому вручили премию в области современного визуального искусства «Инновация» в номинации «Лучший региональный проект» как куратору VIII Красноярской музейной биеннале «Даль» в 2009 году. 

Избранные проекты

1995 — «Прошлое и будущее в музее» I Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

1997 — «Открытый музей: Urbi et orbi» II Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

1999 — «Музеи мира — на площади Мира» III Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

2001 — «Искусство памяти» IV Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

2003 — «Вымысел истории» V Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

2005 — «Перемещение ценностей: ценность перемещения» VI Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

2007 — «Чертеж Сибири» VII Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

2009 — «Даль» VIII Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

2011 — «Во глубине» IX Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

2013 — «Любовь пространства» X Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

2015 — «Практики соприкасания» XI Красноярская музейная биеннале. Куратор.

Награды и звания

Награжден специальной премией Третьего Всероссийского конкурса в области современного визуального искусства «Инновация» за социально значимое явление в области современного искусства в 2007 году.

Проект Красноярского музейного центра VIII Красноярская музейная биеннале «Даль» (куратор – Сергей Ковалевский) получил государственную премию в области современного визуального искусства "Инновация" в номинации «Лучший региональный проект» в 2010г.

Образование и профессиональная деятельность

Окончил Красноярский инженерно-строительный институт, по специальности «архитектура» в 1982 году.

Красноярский музейный комплекс. Арт-директор, работает с 1997 года.

Руководитель семинаров по инновации в музейной экспозиции в странах Средней Азии (Узбекистан, Кыргызстан, Таджикистан, Казахстан), 2007-2011 гг.;

Член экспертного совета и жюри Всероссийского конкурса в области современного визуального искусства «Инновация», 2011-2013 гг.;

Участник Экспертного Совета Российского инвестиционного художественного рейтинга 49ART.